Week #40 (March 14)
Blood pressure: Normal
My progress: 3cm dilated and 70% effaced. Last week I was 2cm dilated and still 50% effaced (which I have been since Week 35!).
At this appointment, I had an ultrasound to check to make sure Baby Punkin is still thriving in my womb and that there is still enough amniotic fluid. Everything checked out just fine and it was nice to see Baby Punkin again, although I'd much rather see him/her not on a video monitor but in my arms instead! Funny thing is the tech was trying to observe Baby Punkin's movements, but Baby Punkin was sleeping so the tech had to keep jabbing my belly to get him/her to move. Baby Punkin is so lazy! :)
After the ultrasound, I was hooked up for a non-stress test. This monitors Baby Punkin's heart rate and well as some mild contractions I was having. Again, Baby Punkin was sleeping, so I had to drink cold water and the nursed used a little buzzer on my belly to get Baby Punkin to move. Finally Baby Punkin had some activity so that we could pass the non-stress test, thankfully!
I have another follow-up appointment on Saturday to make sure Baby Punkin is still doing alright in there, and I am scheduled to be induced next Wednesday - March 21 @ 8am.
So while I am relieved to have made some progress, I'm still discouraged - feeling as though this baby will never come! The Dr. however, does think I won't make it through the weekend. But two weeks ago, when I got to 2cm and 50% effaced, the doctor I had for that visit said he thinks I would go on or before my due date.
Needless to say, I'm feeling a tad depressed over going this long. I truly did think Baby Punkin would be here no later than March 12. I can't believe I am seeing my due date of March 14 on the calendar today and I don't have a baby yet.
I think it's harder this time than with Silly Baby because at that time, I wasn't working so spent most of my time by myself. Now, I am working so everyday I get "you're still here?" or "no baby yet?" 5x before I even get to my desk in the morning, on top of all the inquiries from family and friends and of course my own impatience! Plus, there's the myth that 2nd+ babies come earlier, so especially since Addison was 4 days early, Baby Punkin seemed to be a no-brainer to arrive early.
I know Baby Punkin will be here no matter what in a week. But if I make it that long, s/he will arrive in a way I never pictured - I will be induced. Having an appointment and just walking into the hospital not even in labor to have my baby just isn't how I ever pictured it. And what if my body just doesn't progress? I've been progressing, but just so slowly for the last few weeks - I have the tremendous fear of this ending in a C-section,which would just break my heart. I know in the end all that matters is a healthy baby, but it's a special moment in our lives too and I want nothing more than to just go naturally.
A lot can happen in a week, so my fingers are crossed. But I do need to start mentally and emotionally preparing myself for being induced so that I can be at peace with it.
Well, my next post will either hopefully be the announcing of Baby Punkin's arrival or an update on my progress over the weekend.
Let's go Baby Punkin! The world is waiting to meet you!
No comments:
Post a Comment